Treasury of Music #12: Frost*

Frost* are one of these bands I always underestimate. I don’t listen to them regularly, but when I do I’m always blown away, especially by their sound. This has to be the best-produced band in Progressive Rock. No wonder, given bandleader and composer Jem Godfrey’s background as songwriter and producer of several number one Pop hits. You can hear that in the sound of the band, in a good way. Never have I enjoyed more mighty synth sounds …
Frost* have just released their third album a week and a half ago, so it was fitting to honour them with a playlist this week. One great song is missing, though, because it simply was too long for my self-imposed playlist limit of 80 minutes (that I have exceeded by a few seconds anyway): Milliontown, the 26-minutes epic of their debut album.

  • Hyperventilate
  • Dear Dead Days
  • Falling Down
  • Lights Out
  • The Other Me
  • Numbers
  • Welcome To Nowhere
  • Experiments In Mass Appeal
  • Last Day
  • Heartstrings
  • No Me No You
  • Pocket Sun
  • Snowman
  • Black Light Machine

Treasury of Music #11: Agents Of Mercy

I really wanted to create some diversity, but being pressed for time this week, I had to feature a band with only three released albums so far. So here is another band from the outstanding Swedish Progressive Rock scene: Agents Of Mercy with Flower Kings members Roine Stolt and Jonas Reingold as well as Lalle Larsson. They are joined by singer Nad Sylvan, who lately toured with Steve Hackett of Genesis fame (and brought the old Genesis tunes to life quite wonderfully, as I can witness), and drummer Walle Wahlgren, who still owes me a hair tie that I lent him at Das Rind, I think. I forget on which occasion, though.
Anyway, he can have it – here is the music:

  • The Fading Ghosts Of Twilight
  • A Quiet Little Town
  • The Black Forest
  • Mercy & Mercury
  • Between Sun & Moon
  • Roger The Tailor
  • Black Sunday
  • The Duke Of Sadness
  • Freak Of Life
  • Bomb Inside Her Heart
  • Citadel

Treasury of Music #10: Lalle Larsson’s Weaveworld

Lalle Larsson belongs to the vast pool of excellent Swedish Progressive Rock musicians who are seemingly all connected with each other through several bands, among them The Flower Kings, whom I previously featured on the Treasury of Music. The first time I saw Lalle Larsson live was also as opening act for The Flower Kings where he played beautiful solo piano arrangements for a room full of people with everybody listening in wonder – the one man chattering was quickly quietened down. Quite a concert experience which you might only get at Prog concerts (apart from Classical).
In Lalle Larsson’s Weaveworld the pianist and composer teamed up with, amongst others, one of my favourite bass players Jonas Reingold for three albums full of a mixture of heavy Prog with a strong Jazz influence and those beautiful, melancholic melodies that only Swedes seem to be able to write. Listen and enjoy for yourself:

  • A Demon’s Kiss
  • Dance Of The Dead
  • Newborn Awakening
  • Insomnia
  • Nocturne
  • Otherworldly
  • City Of Lost Souls
  • Marionette
  • Infinity Of Worlds
  • Rainbow’s Gold